Sex Scenes

I write erotica. That means all my books have, at a bare minimum, one highly graphic sex/love scene, and some of my books have a lot of them. It all depends on the story/plot and character development. Sometimes the scenes even involve more than two people. There are many orifices after all and some people like to play director to get a hard on. In any case, the hardest scenes for me to write are sex scenes. I know this might seem strange coming from an erotic author, but it is true, and here is why. I can only write from within the perspectives of my characters. I have to get inside their heads and see out of their eyes, hear from their ears, talk from their mouths, smell from their noses, and feel through their senses. This means that a sex act does involve me not as a voyeur but as a participant from the perspective of all those involved. This can be daunting and overwhelming. I want to have the readers feel like they are in the bedroom, or on the floor, or in the office chair where it is happening. To have it feel even slightly possible necessitates constant vigilance to description and emotions. My sex scenes take longer to write than any other scene and get more editing work done on them.

~ by amberrosethompson on July 4, 2012.

2 Responses to “Sex Scenes”

  1. Very interesting! I’d never thought of it like that. I guess when you write from a character’s perspective, you really do have to get involved, don’t you? Still, you must have fun writing the sex scenes!!!

    • I really do get in their heads to the point of sometimes sharing their nervous breakdown, and yes I do have fun writing the sex scenes, especially afterwards. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
