Horror

So I had an interesting insight into the psyche last night. I always thought nightmares were based on fears that lurked beneath the conscious, forcing themselves to be heard when the conscious mind is offline and vulnerable in sleep. I’m beginning to think I was wrong. Last night I had a nightmare about making my bed, except it wasn’t exactly my bed. No matter what I did, the sheets and comforter wouldn’t stay on right. Now, from the best of my knowledge I do not fear sheets or comforters. Rather, I quiet love them when I’m snuggled up under, warm and toasty. Except in the summer when I tend to toss and turn more, alternating from wanting sheets to wanting nothing on my body. And yet, when I woke from this dream, there was no doubt by the beating heart that it was a nightmare. How odd? I know I have a tendency for OCD, but that was already a known aspect of my personality and one I actually like. Hmm, what do sheets represent? Something kinky I’m afraid of? Is there a sheet fetish?

~ by amberrosethompson on June 17, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
