Human Psyche

So I’ve noticed something highly annoying about myself, and that is I write better when I’m not relaxed. Today is a gorgeous spring day, not too hot or too cold, birds are singing, my cats and wife are lying down in quiet comfort, and I have all the time I need to write. But I can’t. My brain is in relaxed oblivion mode and has no interest in designing a plot or dialog. The part that annoys me is that if I was at work I could write. I don’t like my job which makes it even more ironic, but telling. When I’m at work I sneak in writing on work computers over lunch and extended breaks which I shouldn’t do. Normally I’m not the kind of person that gets off on doing something wrong, but that is when I write my best. I think, too, that the nerves and anxiety I feel at work help stimulate my creative juices to flow. Sigh, why can’t I write smut when I’m relaxed? I know I already answered the question, but it is highly annoying.

~ by amberrosethompson on June 3, 2012.

3 Responses to “Human Psyche”

  1. I write to relax, then I keep writing. It helps me stay calm.

Leave a Reply

 
