Blood

Line from my book in progress: So many warm, blood filled places don’t you think?

I’m not a vampire, not into blood play, and while I eat meat I wish I was a vegetarian. So I’m trying to figure out why I keep writing BDSM erotica with vampires in it. Sure vampires make it easy to do edge play and power/submission mind games, but there is something more. It has to involve, at least in part, the blood. Writing my current book, the protagonist (vampire) has a thing for human blood. Yes, I know no surprise there, but for him it goes much deeper and blood is sex. So this made me go all Freudian on myself and think I’m using blood as a symbol for sex/life. Blood is salty, and who doesn’t like salt? Blood has a deep color, and colors that are vibrant strike the eyes. Blood is thick, and tactile is important in relationships. I guess I’ve answered my own question, finally. 🙂

~ by amberrosethompson on May 20, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
