Transgender Rights

Yesterday, Massachusetts became the fourth U.S. state with transgender protection under their anti-discrimination laws. Happy there is another state I can safely live in and sad there are so many to go. I hate my current job, which pays the bills so I can write, but the reasons to stay are strong. In the state I live in, even if someone at work finds out about my past they cannot fire me. It might seem strange to some, but in other states I would live in perpetual fear of losing my job, being denied health care, and being tossed out on a street by a landlord and all because I changed my gender, nothing more. I did not commit a crime, hurt anyone, or do damage to anything. I live in fear because others fear me, nothing more.

~ by amberrosethompson on November 24, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
